Archive or delete a workspace or parent line

There are two ways to remove workspaces from your workspace hierarchy.

  • Archiving is more commonly used for products that are retiring or for services or project teams working on finite client engagements.

  • Deleting workspaces is common when you are using a workspace as a sandbox environment to experiment with workflow. Be very cautious when deleting workspaces because you cannot recover the data.

Click any of the following links to skip ahead:

Archive workspaces or parent lines

When you are finished with a workspace or parent line and want to hide it from your workspace hierarchy, simply remove all of the users from the workspace using the Workspace → Users page. This will hide the workspace from all of the users without deleting any data. You can unarchive the workspace by giving permission back to users.

There is one thing you need to look out for. If the workspace or parent line you want to archive is a child of a parent line and users are granted permission at the parent line level, then they will still be able to see the workspace. In that case, you will need to remove the workspace from the parent line to make it invisible to the users. You will need to be an administrator with customization privileges to do this.

  1. Go to Settings ⚙️→ Account → Workspaces.

  2. Create a new parent line called "Archived workspaces" or something similar.

  3. Click on the workspace you want to archive to edit it. Switch the parent line it currently belongs to over to the newly created "Archived workspaces" workspace line.

  4. Click Save.

Top

Export data before deleting

If you need to export any data prior to deleting your workspace, there are a few different ways to do so:

  1. Export data on the Features → List using the Save as CSV option.

  2. Create a presentation and save it as a PDF or HTML.

  3. Use the API to extract rich information.

There is no standard data format that supports all of the Aha! data types, so there is no universal bulk export feature.

Top

Delete workspaces or parent lines

Note: Deleting a workspace is PERMANENT. You will not be able to recover any of the data associated with the workspace. Make sure that you and your team do not need to access any info about this workspace again before deleting it.

You can delete workspaces and parent lines by navigating to Settings ⚙️→ Account → Workspaces. You will need to be an administrator with customization privileges to do this.

Use the expandable workspace hierarchy on the Workspaces page to find the workspace or parent line you wish to delete, then click Edit to edit the workspace or parent line in question. Beside the Edit button, you will see a count of all records and users associated with that workspace.

If you are deleting several child workspaces and parent lines, we recommend you delete the workspaces first. This is because it's common to inherit permissions from parent lines, so if you delete one, you lose all permissions to the workspaces beneath them. If you do that by mistake, just go to your User settings and add yourself as a workspace owner to the workspaces individually.

Top

Alternate way to delete a workspace

Note: Deleting a workspace is PERMANENT. You will not be able to recover any of the data associated with the workspace. Make sure that you and your team do not need to access any info about this workspace again before deleting it.

You can also delete a workspace and all of its associated data on the Info → Overview screen. Click the More details button and select Delete workspace. This will delete all records associated with the workspace.

Top

Strategic roadmaps
    Integrations
    Announcements

    The worldʼs #1 roadmap software

    Not ready? Join a demo
    © 2020 Aha! Labs Inc.All rights reserved