Aha! Develop | User permissions

There is no one-size-fits-all when it comes to user permissions. Set permissions too loosely and you risk a well-meaning teammate changing an account-wide setting. Restrict access too much and you cannot collaborate effectively with the people who contribute to your team's success.

Aha! Develop is where you complete strategic work. So in addition to customizing your Aha! Develop account to match your teams' workflows, you want to invite the right people to the conversation. With our sophisticated user permissions, you can have the best of all worlds — administrators with the ability to align workflows across teams, contributors who are fully engaged in your plans, reviewers who can provide insights, and viewers who can stay informed of the latest.

In this article, we will cover all of the user permission levels, the difference between the three administrator levels, and show how you can manage user permissions in your account.

Click any of the following links to skip ahead:

Non-admin user roles

There are four primary levels of user permissions in Aha! Develop (though you can grant any user level administrator privileges). You can give a user different user roles in different teams in your account.

Permission

Owner

Contributor

Reviewer

Viewer

Add and manage users within the team

x




Create new teams

x




Manage team members*

x




Customize team settings

x




Add and manage releases, epics, features, sprints, and notes

x

x



Add new features to existing releases

x

x



Add features and requirements to sprints

x

x



Edit existing features and requirements

x

x



Add comments

x

x

x


Create custom extensions

Note: Anyone can create an extension, but you need to be an administrator to install one in your account.

x

x

x

x

Use extensions

x

x

x

x

Comment on to-dos

x

x

x

x

Create and complete to-dos

x

x

x

x

Be added as a watcher on records

x

x

x

x

Be assigned to records

x

x

x

x

Create and edit personal notes

x

x

x

x

*Owners can add new teams using the + icon located on the upper-right side of the toolbar, and manage members for their team. Administrators with customization privileges can see, manage, or delete any team in the account.

Top

Administrator user roles

Administrator users can edit settings that affect the entire Aha! Develop account. Admins are a secondary user role, which means that you can give any user in your account admin permissions, including users without permissions to see any teams.

There are three different administrator access roles:

Permission

Account

Billing

Customizations

Change the account profile

x



Enable two-factor authentication

x



Configure single sign-on (SSO)

x



Enable extensions in your account

x



Disable document previews

x



Manage users and user permissions


x


Add or remove paid seats


x


View invoices


x


Create and populate teams



x

Create custom statuses and workflows



x

Create and manage tags



x

Create and manage custom fields



x

Create and manage custom record layouts



x

Install and manage extensions



x

Access the recycle bin



x

Top

Accounts integrated with Aha! Roadmaps

Develop Advanced accounts can integrate with Aha! Roadmaps for a unified product development environment.

It is helpful to visualize how two sets of Aha! users in two different Aha! products can interact in a shared Aha! account. At a high level, a user has three options. They can:

  • Have No access

  • View work

  • Edit work

Aha! Roadmaps accounts divide into individual workspaces. Aha! Develop accounts divide into individual teams.

Top

Disabling and deleting users

If you are an administrator with billing permissions, you have access to Settings ⚙️→ Account → Billing → Users, where you can edit the permissions and profiles of your users. Here, you can also choose to Disable or Delete a user.

  • Disabled users do not count as paid seats, and can be reactivated later. Disabling a user does not remove records they have created.

  • Deleted users are removed permanently from the list of users. Deleting a user does not remove records they have created.

Top

Bulk edit user permissions

To bulk edit user permissions, go to Settings ⚙️→ Account → Users. Select the checkbox next to any name. The Bulk edit button will appear at the top of the user list. You will need to be an administrator with billing user permissions to do this.

Top

Export user information to a CSV file

Administrators with billing user permissions can export a complete list of users in their account to a CSV file for better visibility and account management. Go to Settings ⚙️ → Account → Users to click the Export users button in the upper right.

Exported values include first name, last name, email, last active, seat in use, whether they have administrator rights, the date the user was added to the account, the email address of the person that added the user, and user roles by team.

Top

Aha! Roadmaps
Aha! Ideas
Aha! Develop
    Announcements
    © 2021 Aha! Labs Inc.All rights reserved