Explore  

Aha! Whiteboards | Share whiteboards

Sharing information is a big part of a product builder's job. You can share Aha! whiteboards with anyone — so you can drive alignment on your plans and work collaboratively with your team.


Click any of the following links to skip ahead:

Share menu overview

All workspace and personal whiteboards have a Share menu in the upper right corner. Personal whiteboards include one option (Guest) in the share menu. Workspace whiteboards include three options:

  • Set Reviewer access. This is the best place to share your whiteboard with internal teams. Define whether those with reviewer access to your workspace can View or Edit your whiteboard. You can set default access for all reviewers in your workspace from the Document access section of your workspace settings, but from here you can override default settings for an individual whiteboard.

  • Guest: Generate a shareable link to your whiteboard and set default guest access to your whiteboard. This is the best place to share with stakeholders you want to collaborate with. Once someone accesses a whiteboard you have shared with them from a guest account, their email address will be listed here. You can then grant them View or Edit access individually, so you can control who can make changes to your whiteboard.

  • Web : Share a view-only link to a note that will update automatically in its own webpage. This is a great way to share a whiteboard to keep people informed of your plans. Anyone with the link will be able to view the whiteboard.

Top

Share a whiteboard

Anyone can share a personal whiteboard that they have created with a shareable link. Contributors can also share workspace whiteboards.

Share with users in your Aha! account

Other users in your account who have access to your workspace can view workspace whiteboards at any time. If you want to share a specific whiteboard with other members of your workspace, you can send them a link to the whiteboard. You can update a whiteboard's reviewer access from the share modal to View or Edit.

  • Access the Share menu and select the Workspace tab.

  • Click Copy link next to Workspace access.

  • Provide the link to whomever you need to share it with. Keep in mind that this link will only work for users in your account who have permission to access your workspace and is not the same link you will use to share with guests.

Contributors can edit any workspace whiteboards. You can decide whether reviewers can edit workspace whiteboards. Viewers cannot edit workspace whiteboards.

You can also @-mention a user in your account. This will add them as a Watcher on the whiteboard. Watchers receive notifications when whiteboards change.

Share with guests

A guest is someone who is not a user in your Aha! account. Guests can view or edit your whiteboard with a link you provide them. A guest needs an account to view whiteboards, but guest accounts are free.

  • Access the Share menu and select the Guest tab.

  • Click Generate link. Provide the link to anyone you want to share the whiteboard with.

You can set default View, View and comment, or Edit access for all guests using the dropdown under Guest access.

You can disable the link whenever you choose. If you disable the link, anyone who has the link but has not yet accepted access to the whiteboard will not be able to access it. But anyone who has already accepted the whiteboard will not lose access — they will find it the Shared with me section of their My work page.

Invite with email

To send an invitation to view a whiteboard:

  • Enter the email address of the person you want to share your whiteboard with in the Invite with email field.

  • Add an optional message.

  • Click Send invite to send your invitation.

The person you invite to view your whiteboard will receive an email linking them to the whiteboard.

You can change a viewer's permissions to Edit, View and comment, or View access by clicking next to their initials in the People who have access section of the Share menu. You can remove access to your whiteboard for any viewer by hovering over their initials and clicking the trash icon that appears.

Share as a webpage

Sharing a whiteboard as a webpage is a great way to share information broadly. Anyone with the link will be able to view your whiteboard — they will not need a guest account to view it.

  • Access the Share menu and select the Web tab.

  • Click Manage webpage.

  • Click the toggle to Enable share as webpage.

  • Click Copy link.

  • Share the link with anyone.

Anyone with access to the link will be able to view the whiteboard. You can disable the link by clicking the toggle again or by clicking Generate new link. When you generate a new link, the previous link will no longer work.

  • Click Copy embed code to embed the note in a third-party platform.

Top

Accept a whiteboard

Someone may share a personal whiteboard with you by providing you with a link. Likewise, someone from a different Aha! account may provide you with a link to share a whiteboard with you. If you are logged into your Aha! account, you will see an option to accept and view the whiteboard. Click View whiteboard to accept and view it.

If you are not logged into your Aha! account when you click the link, you will see a prompt to sign up for an account. We recommend logging in to your Aha! account first and then accessing the link to avoid creating an additional guest account to view the whiteboard.

If you do not have an Aha! account, you can sign up for a guest account from the invitation. Guest accounts are free.

Top

Suite overview
Aha! Roadmaps
Aha! Ideas