Manage ideas portal users in Aha! Ideas

Ideas portal users are free and unlimited in every Aha! Ideas billing plan, so you can invite or import as many users as you want. This guarantees that you can hear from anyone you would like feedback from. It also means that you will likely need to manage your portal users.

Ideas portal with submitted ideas and votes.

Each ideas portal you create has its own settings to help you manage users for that portal. You can invite, edit, and disable users, as well as follow links to ideas they have created, commented on, or voted on.

To manage users for an ideas portal, open your ideas portal settings by navigating to either Settings ⚙️ → Account → Ideas portals or Ideas → Overview.

  • From your account settings, click the name of the ideas portal you wish to edit.

  • From Ideas → Overview, click the pencil icon by the name of the ideas portal you wish to edit.

You will need to be an administrator with customization permissions to manage ideas portal users.

Note: This article discusses functionality that is included in Ideas Advanced. Please contact us if you would like a live demo or would like to try using it in your account. (Roadmaps accounts created before October 20, 2020 include this functionality.)

Click any of the following links to skip ahead:

Invite a single ideas portal user

When users submit ideas, they are automatically captured as portal users. To add users who have not yet submitted ideas, follow these steps to invite them to the portal:

  1. From your portal settings' Users tab, click the Add portal user button and then enter the user's name and email address.

  2. (Optional) Select the Employee checkbox to identify a user as an employee to provide more flexibility for idea visibility.

  3. Click Create to invite the user.

Top

Import multiple ideas portal users by CSV

You may have multiple users — or multiple ideas — to import. If that is the case, navigate to Settings ⚙️ → Workspace → Import from CSV to bulk-invite users to your portal.

Note: You can also import ideas, users, and votes from UserVoice by navigating to Settings ⚙️ → Workspace → Import from UserVoice.

You can import the following ideas information:

Top

Resend an invitation to an ideas portal user

If you previously invited a user to the ideas portal but they have not received the invitation email, ask them to check their spam folder to make sure it was not routed there. If they still have not received the message, follow these steps to resend the invitation:

  1. From your portal settings' User tab, click the user's name.

  2. Click Resend invite.

If you are still having trouble, contact us for additional help.

Top

Edit an ideas portal user's profile

  1. From your portal settings' Users tab, click the user's name.

  2. Edit the user's profile.

  3. Click Update portal user to save your changes.

Top

Reset an ideas portal user's password

  1. From your portal settings' the Users tab, click the user's name.

  2. Click Send password reset. The user will receive a password reset email.

Top

Disable or delete an ideas portal user

Sometimes it is necessary to disable or delete users because they have changed employment or you wish to prevent them from adding or viewing ideas.

  1. From your portal settings' Users tab, hover over the user's name, then click the More options button.

  2. Click Disable or Delete.

Note:

  • Disabled portal users can be reactivated at a later time.

  • Deleted portal users are removed permanently. If the user has submitted, voted, or commented on ideas, their content will be retained but the user information will be deleted. If the user has not had any activity, the user information will be deleted entirely.

Top

Unsubscribe or resubscribe ideas portal users from notifications

If a single user doesn't want to receive notifications, you can opt out of notifications for them by following these steps. They can also unsubscribe to any emails they receive.

  1. From your portal settings' Users tab, hover over the user's name, then click the More options button.

  2. Click Unsubscribe. To resubscribe the user, click Resubscribe.

You can also unsubscribe all users from notifications for an ideas portal.

  1. From your portal settings' Users tab, click the More options button at the top of the user list.

  2. Click Unsubscribe all portal users.

Note: Individual ideas portal users can always opt back in to idea notifications.

Top

View a portal user's content and activity

User management is about more than just the administrative aspects. The Users tab also allows you to engage with any ideas your users have created — and any actions they've taken on your ideas portal.

From your portal settings' Users tab, there are three columns beside each user: Ideas, Comments, and Votes. If your user has created an idea, left a comment, or voted for an idea, you will see numbers in these columns.

Top

Aha! Roadmaps
Aha! Ideas
Ideas
      Announcements
      © 2020 Aha! Labs Inc.All rights reserved