Aha! Ideas user permissions

In Aha! Ideas, you can set sophisticated user permissions to give users in your account access to particular levels of your workspace hierarchy or your account as a whole. Beyond access to particular parts of your account, you can also choose from five permissions levels — from a viewer, who can watch and comment on ideas, all the way to an administrator.

Click any of the following links to skip ahead:

Aha! Ideas user roles

There are four primary levels of user permissions in Aha! Ideas (though you can grant any user level administrator privileges). You can give a user different user roles in different workspaces in your account.

Permission

Owner

Contributor

Reviewer

Viewer

Add and manage users within the workspace

x

Create new workspaces*

x

Create workspace-level integrations

x

Customize workspace settings

x

Manage ideas

x

x

Add private comments on ideas

x

x

Create and manage empathy sessions (Advanced plan)

x

x

Create and manage feedback campaigns (Advanced plan)

x

x

Create and edit ideas from within Aha!**

x

x

x

Add public comments on ideas**

x

x

x

Add comments

x

x

x

Edit approval to-dos

x

x

x

Share Aha! Ideas views as webpages

x

x

x

x

Comment on to-dos

x

x

x

x

Create and complete to-dos

x

x

x

x

Create reports

x

x

x

x

Be added as a watcher on records

x

x

x

x

Be assigned to ideas

x

x

x

x

*New workspaces can be added by owners using the + icon located on the upper-right side of the toolbar and can be created anywhere in the workspace hierarchy that the owner has visibility. Customization administrator access is required to edit the workspace hierarchy.

**Reviewers can create ideas and edit only their own ideas. They can add public comments to ideas through an ideas portal but not through the Aha! account.

Top

Aha! Ideas administrator roles

Administrator roles give users the ability to edit various account-level settings. It is a secondary user role so that a user can have administrator access to the account while having any level of access (including "None") to the workspaces and parent lines within the account.

User permissions for an Aha! ideas user

There are three different administrator access levels. Any user with administrator-level permissions can create an account-level integration.

  • Account: Allows the user to manage account settings such as the account profile.

  • Billing: Allows the user to manage account-level billing and user permissions. Your account must always have at least one billing administrator. You cannot delete or disable your only billing administrator.

  • Customization: Allows the user to manage account-level customizations such as ideas portals (and ideas portal settings), scorecards, and workspace hierarchy.

Top

User permissions across the workspace hierarchy

If you have a workspace hierarchy set up in Aha! with at least one parent line and a child workspace, then the following also applies. A user with explicit permission at the parent line level will have that permission for all child workspaces. The only exception is if they are given more permission for a specific workspace. (They cannot be given less permission for a workspace in that line.)

Top

Disabling and deleting users

If you are an administrator with billing permissions, you have access to Settings ⚙ → Account → Billing → Users, where you can edit the permissions and profiles of your users. Here, you can also choose to Disable or Delete a user.

  • Disabled users do not count as paid seats and can be reactivated later. Disabling a user does not remove records they have created.

  • Deleted users are removed permanently from the list of users. Deleting a user does not remove records they have created.

Top

Users with no permissions

If an Aha! user attempts to view a workspace to which they have no permissions, they will be presented with a notification page. The page provides an email address of an administrator with account-level permissions who can adjust their user permissions.

Top

Bulk edit users

To bulk edit user permissions, go to Settings ⚙ → Account → Users. Select the checkbox next to any name. The Bulk edit button will appear at the top of the user list. You can bulk edit whether users' notifications are enabled, whether the users themselves are enabled, and which user permission level the users should have per workspace.

Top

Export user information by CSV

Billing administrators can export a complete list of users in their account to a CSV file for better visibility and monitoring of the Aha! user community. Go to Settings ⚙️→ Account → Users to find the Export Users button.

Exported values include first name, last name, email, last active, seat in use, whether they have administrator rights, the date the user was added to the account, the email address of the person that added the user, and user roles by parent line and workspace.

Top

Aha! billing plans

There are two Aha! Ideas billing plans: Essentials and Advanced.

  • In the Essentials plan, you get access to unlimited ideas portals, ideas portal users, voting, comments, ideas management, custom branding, list reports, single sign-on (SSO) integrations, and Aha! Ideas integrations.

  • In the Advanced plan, you also get access to advanced features such as empathy sessions, portal language controls, in-app community feedback, advanced reporting, proxy voting, and custom ideas portal domains.

  • In either billing plan, you pay per Aha! Ideas account user seat and may add unlimited ideas portal users without charge.

Sign up or upgrade your plan under Settings ⚙️→ Account → Billing.

Top

Aha! Roadmaps
Aha! Ideas
Ideas
    Announcements
    © 2020 Aha! Labs Inc.All rights reserved