Note: This article discusses functionality that is included in the Enterprise+ plan. Please contact us if you would like a live demo or would like to try using it in your account.

Aha! Roadmaps | Workspace templates (Enterprise+)

Cross-functional achievements do not happen by accident. They take work ethic, strategic alignment, and detailed coordination. Your Aha! Roadmaps workspace settings contain many of these details — from terminology to workflows, release templates to automation rules.

If multiple workspaces in your Aha! account have the same workspace settings, then their work will be complementary. Workspace templates help you standardize workspace settings and manage workspaces efficiently across your Aha! account. This lets teams in new and existing workspaces approach their work in the same way — and get set up to achieve great things together.

Click on any of the following links to skip ahead:

Create a new template

To create a new workspace template, navigate to Settings ⚙ Account Workspace templates. You will need to be an administrator with customization permissions to do this.

From this page, you can see all the existing workspace templates in your account. Click Add workspace template to create a new one.

  • You do not have to create a workspace template from scratch. If you already have a workspace in your Aha! account configured for your needs, use it as the basis for your workspace template by selecting it in the Copy from dropdown.

  • Name your workspace template. If you intend to create multiple workspace templates, make sure to give each one a unique name.

  • Give your workspace template an optional Description.

Click Create workspace template when you are finished. Once you have created your template, click on its name or the Edit button to configure it. Click the More options button to Copy or Delete it.

Top

Configure your template

Click on any workspace template to configure it. This will open the Workspace template editor. The editor walks you through all the workspace-level settings you can templatize, organized by settings category. Click on any settings category to get started.

Note: You can add any workspace-level settings to a workspace template except for Portals for [workspace], Imports, and Integrations, which are all intentionally workspace-specific. Capacity planning and ideas settings will be added soon.

Generally, any setting you configure at the template level will be applied in each workspace using the template. But there are a few nuances to note:

  • There is a lock 🔒 toggle to the right of most settings. If you leave a setting unlocked, then workspace owners can change the setting in their individual workspaces. If they do change the setting, future template updates will not be applied to that setting in that workspace. If you leave a setting locked, they will not be able to change the setting. In either case, the setting will default to the configuration you select in the template editor.

  • Some settings are additive. For example, you can create Note templates at the template level to ensure that each workspace has access to a consistent set of templates. But individual workspace owners can also create their own note templates to complement the note templates they inherit from the workspace template.

  • Some settings depend on other workspace configurations. For example, an Automation rule that depends on a particular custom field will not run in a workspace that does not have that custom field in the appropriate custom layout. A Default assignee will not be assigned if your chosen user does not have access to a given workspace. In these cases, the workspace template will not be applied to settings it cannot resolve.

  • Some settings depend on a visible field in a custom record layout. For example, you might choose to customize record Progress calculations. Hover over each record type; if the Progress field is not visible in that record type's custom layout, you will see a tooltip notifying you and a button to Edit the layout in question.

When you have configured the template to your liking, click Review changes.

Top

Review your changes

The Review changes step shows you a list of Current template settings and the New template settings that will be applied when you complete the workspace template editor.

Scroll through the list of proposed changes and make sure they are correct — and that they should be applied to every current or future workspace that adopts the template.

  • In addition to the settings themselves, check to make sure the right settings are locked 🔒 or unlocked 🔒.

  • New template settings surrounded in red and containing warning ⚠️ icons indicate settings changes that cannot be undone if applied. For example, changing a workspace's default scorecard will erase all existing scores.

  • If you want to make further changes, click the settings categories on the left side of the template builder or click <-Back to return to the configuration step.

At the top of your screen, you can see a list of workspaces that your changes will impact. Workspaces that you do not have access to are still counted in this total, even if you cannot see their names.

Top

Apply your changes

When you are ready to apply your template, click Apply changes in the upper right. Applying a template automatically updates the settings in all workspaces linked to that template.

Note: While you need to be an administrator with customizations permissions to create a workspace template, you must be a billing administrator or an owner in every workspace that uses this template to apply changes.

Top

Apply a template to workspaces

To apply your workspace template to a new or existing workspace, navigate to Settings ⚙ Account Workspaces. You will need to be an administrator with customizations permissions to do this.

  • Click Add workspace at the top of the page, select a Workspace type, then click Next. Choose your workspace template from the Workspace template dropdown, then click Create workspace to save your changes.

  • Click Edit beside any workspace to which you have workspace owner permissions. Choose your workspace template from the Workspace template dropdown, then click Save workspace to save your changes.

Any future updates to your workspace template will be applied to the workspaces you select.

Note: Some settings changes cannot be undone if applied. For example, changing a workspace's default scorecard will erase all existing scores. To make sure you do not accidentally make a change that you cannot undo when you apply a template to a workspace, those changes will not be applied automatically. You will need to update those settings in the workspace manually.

Top

If you get stuck, please reach out to our Product Success team. Our team is made up entirely of product experts and responds fast.

Suite overview
Aha! Roadmaps
    Roadmaps
      Integrations
      Aha! Ideas
      Aha! Develop
      Videos
      Announcements