Aha! Ideas saved views

A saved view is a visual representation of a page in Aha! that you can customize and come back to for future use. Saved views can be organized into folders and shared with others.

Note: This article discusses functionality that is included in Ideas Advanced. Please contact us if you would like a live demo or would like to try using it in your account. (Roadmaps accounts created before October 20, 2020 include this functionality.)

Click any link here to skip ahead:

Save a report view

While almost any page in Aha! can be represented with a view, some views can be managed from the reports overview and shared externally as a webpage.

Note: Reports need to be saved as views before they can be shared.

The following pages can be saved as views:

To create a new saved view for reports:

  1. Choose a page that you want to save as a view from the above list.

  2. Configure the page to meet your needs. Then, navigate to the Views dropdown and click Save view. If you are on an existing view, click Save as to save a new copy of the view.

  3. Add a Name. Typically, it is best to choose a unique name so you can quickly identify it later.

  4. Set the Share internally with value. This value controls access to your view. Users who have permission to access the workspace that you select in this field will be able to access the view.

  5. Set the Save in value by choosing a folder where you would like to save the view. Folders can be created and managed on the reports overview.

  6. Set the Editing permissions. You have two options for editing permissions.

    • View only: Users you have shared the view with will be able to see the view but only you and administrators will be able to edit the view.

    • View and edit: Anyone you have shared the view with will be able to view and edit regardless of their workspace permissions.

  7. Click Save view.

  8. You can always change the settings of your saved view from the report drawer view, which can be accessed two ways:

    • From Reports → Overview, find the report you wish to change, then click the More options button and select View details.

    • From the report itself by selecting Views → Edit view details.

Top

Access saved report views

Saved reports and views are accessible from Reports → Overview. You can also access saved and related views from the Views dropdown, which appears in the top-right corner of most pages throughout the Aha! application.

When you click Saved views, the Views modal will open. Within the modal, there are two tabs:

  • The Saved views tab lists any saved views that you have created (or ones have been shared with you) that are the same type as the page you are currently viewing. The Saved views tab is perfect for quick access to views that you have recently opened, favorite views that you have bookmarked, and views that have been shared with you. You can search, filter, and sort saved views to locate the views that you need.

  • The Related views tab lists additional reports and charts related to the page you are currently viewing to help you get started with a new view.

Note: Related views will carry forward any defined filters. This ensures that the related views are consistent with what you were previously viewing.

Top

Share a saved view as a webpage

You can share saved views outside of your Aha! account using the Share as webpage option. The webpage you share will sync with the Aha! note every five minutes and update when you refresh it.

To see the Share as webpage option, you must be the creator of a saved view. If you are not the creator of a view, you will not see the option to share it.

List report with the share menu expanded and a highlight on "Share as webpage."

To share a saved view as a webpage:

  1. Start by enabling this account-level setting: Settings ⚙→ Account → Security and single sign-on → Saved views: External webpage security.

  2. Create a view by following the steps mentioned in the Create a saved view section of this article.

  3. Save your view. Only saved views can be shared. If your view is not saved, the Share as webpage option will be greyed out until it is saved. Any unsaved changes that you make to the configuration of the report will not appear in the view.

  4. From the source page of the view, select the More options button, then choose Share as webpage. The share as webpage modal will appear. You can also access the Share as webpage modal using the Settings link found on the reports drawer view of views that were created by you.

  5. From the Share as webpage modal window, enable the Shareable webpage setting. This will generate a view-only webpage for anyone to access your view from their browser window and an embed link for adding it to a webpage. For example, you might want to embed the view on your company intranet site.

    Report drawer open in front of the reports overview page with the Shareable webpage field highlighted.

To embed a shared view into another webpage, copy the Embed link and include it within your webpage. The embed link includes two attributes that give you visibility control of the header and footer for the embedded view. For example:

  • To hide the header, set the header attribute to false: header=false

  • To show the footer, set the footer attribute to true: footer=true

The logo in the top-left corner of the webpage view can be customized by updating the logo image at Settings ⚙️→ Account → Profile → Primary logo.

Top

Shared webpage security

As you are getting started with shareable webpage views, there are few security and administration notes to keep in mind:

  • Each view shared as a webpage has its own unique URL. You can create a new link from the Share as webpage modal.

  • Anyone with a link to your shared view has access to see the view only — they cannot make changes to any of the data contained in the view, and cannot click into #mentions or @mentions.

  • The webpage you share will sync with the Aha! every five minutes, and update when you refresh it.

  • Administrators with account permissions can moderate all views that have an externally shared webpage, along with all calendars synced published externally. Navigate to Settings ⚙ → Account → Profile → External sharing and select the appropriate tab. From here, administrators can create new links or disable the webpage.

  • If you disable a shared view, the link to that shared view will no longer work. To disable a shared view's webpage, open the Share as webpage modal on the view and uncheck Shareable webpage.

    Note: Only the view's creator or an administrator with account permissions can disable the webpage.

Top

Aha! Roadmaps
Aha! Ideas
Ideas
      Announcements
      © 2020 Aha! Labs Inc.All rights reserved