Aha! user permissions

In Aha! you can set sophisticated user permissions that give users access to particular levels of your workspace hierarchy, to your account as a whole, or, for Enterprise+ customers, to custom roles.

Note: This article refers to releases and features. Depending on your workspace type, you may see "schedules" and “activities" in your workspace.

Click any of the following links to skip ahead:

User roles

There are four primary levels of user permissions in Aha! (though you can grant any user level administrator privileges). You can give a user different user roles in different workspaces in your account.

Permission

Owner

Contributor

Reviewer

Viewer

Add and manage users within the workspace

x

Create new workspaces*

x

Create workspace integrations

x

Customize workspace settings

x

Set advanced estimates (Enterprise+)

x

Add and manage strategy, notes, releases, ideas, and features

x

x

Create and manage presentations

x

x

Add new features to existing releases

x

x

Edit existing features (update status, log time, add attachments, update feature attributes)

x

x

Add public comments on ideas

x

x

Share workspace notes as webpages

x

x

Edit approval to-dos

x

x

Create and edit ideas from within Aha!**

x

x

x

Add comments

x

x

x

Comment on to-dos

x

x

x

x

Create and complete to-dos

x

x

x

x

Create reports and roadmaps

x

x

x

x

Be added as a watcher on records

x

x

x

x

Be assigned to features / activities

x

x

x

x

View parent line strategy, releases, ideas, and features

x

x

x

x

Create and edit personal notes

x

x

x

x

*New workspaces can be added by owners using the + icon located on the upper-right side of the toolbar and can be created anywhere in the workspace hierarchy that the owner has visibility. Customization administrator access is required to edit the workspace hierarchy.

**Reviewers can create ideas and edit only their own ideas.

Top

Administrator roles

Administrator roles give users the ability to edit various account-level settings. It is a secondary user role so that a user can have administrator access to the account while having any level of access (including "None") to the workspaces and parent lines within the account.

There are three different administrator access roles:

Support - Aha! user permissions - inline image

Top

Custom roles

Enterprise+ accounts can configure custom administrator roles and custom user roles. Custom roles are ideal when you have users that need specific permissions which are not covered by the pre-configured roles.

Top

User permissions across the workspace hierarchy

If you have a workspace hierarchy set up in Aha! with at least one parent line and a child workspace, then the following also applies:

  • A user who has permission for a workspace automatically gets viewer permission for the parent lines that this workspace is nested under. This allows the user to see the hierarchy and the strategy for the parent line.
    Note: The user cannot see other workspaces (even the workspace names) under the parent line unless they have explicit permission to do so.

  • A user with explicit permission at the parent line level will have that permission for all child workspaces. The only exception is if they are given more permission for a specific workspace. (They cannot be given less permission for a workspace in that line.)

Top

Disabling and deleting users

If you are an administrator with billing permissions, you have access to Settings ⚙️→ Account → Billing → Users, where you can edit the permissions and profiles of your users. Here, you can also choose to Disable or Delete a user.

  • Disabled users do not count as paid seats, and can be reactivated later. Disabling a user does not remove records they have created.

  • Deleted users are removed permanently from the list of users. Deleting a user does not remove records they have created.

Users with no permissions

If an Aha! user attempts to view a workspace to which they have no permissions, they will be presented with a notification page. The page provides an email address of an administrative user with account-level permissions who can adjust their user permissions.

Top

Bulk edit user permissions

To bulk edit user permissions, go to Settings ⚙️→ Account → Users. Select the checkbox next to any name. The Bulk edit button will appear at the top of the user list.

Top

Export user information to CSV file

Account administrators can export a complete list of users in their account to a CSV file for better visibility and monitoring of the Aha! user community. Go to Settings ⚙️ → Account → Users to find the Export Users button.

Exported values include first name, last name, email, last active, seat in use, whether they have administrator rights, the date the user was added to the account, the email address of the person that added the user, and user roles by parent line and workspace.

Top

Aha! billing plans

There are three Aha! billing plans: Premium, Enterprise, and Enterprise+.

  • In the Premium plan, you pay for every user no matter their role.

  • In the Enterprise and Enterprise+ plans, you pay only for owners and contributors. You may add unlimited reviewers, viewers, and users with no permissions. Usually, users with no permissions are added to administer the account.

  • Enterprise+ plans also allow for advanced license management. Administrators with billing permissions can segment available paid seats across their account by group, so that one group doesn't use seats that another group has paid for.

  • In any billing plan, you may add unlimited ideas portal users without charge.

Sign up or upgrade your plan under Settings ⚙️ → Account → Billing.

Top

Strategic roadmaps
Integrations
Announcements

The worldʼs #1 roadmap software

Not ready? Join a demo
© 2020 Aha! Labs Inc.All rights reserved