Bulk edit records

It's often easier to update records in bulk than it is to edit each one individually. You can even send records to an integration in bulk. Bulk editing is as simple as creating a list report filtered to your data set, then selecting records individually or in bulk.

Click any of the following links to skip ahead:

Considerations before converting or moving records

Bulk editing is a simple and powerful tool, and as such it is worth considering the exact effects of your edits before you click the Apply button. We have put contextual warnings in the Bulk edit modal to give you a few tips.

When you bulk edit records, your edits might affect fields that you didn't intend to change. Moving a record to a release in a different workspace can move it into a new workflow, for example, with access to different statuses. Converting a record to a new type might change the number of custom fields available. To keep you from making a change that you will have to manually undo, we put the following parameters around bulk editing.

When you opt to convert records via the bulk edit function, Aha! will only transfer a field's value from the original to the edited record if:

  • That field is available in the new record type (requirements, for example, have fewer fields than features)

  • That field is a status and the edited record will use the exact same workflow as the original record (note: not a copy of the exact workflow).

  • That field is a custom field and the edited record uses the same API key for the custom field.

  • That field is an integration field and the edited record uses the same integration.

In short, the bulk edit modal will only map a field to the edited record if it can be absolutely sure that that mapping is relevant.

Note: if you are converting a record from one type to another, or moving it from one location to another, the Initiative field will never transfer from the original to the edited record. You will need to update this yourself. This ensures that no initiative is incorrectly linked to an edited record.

Top

Bulk editing records

When you select one or more records in the list report with the checkboxes on the lefthand side of your report, the Bulk edit button appears at the top. You can bulk edit any records that you have the permissions to edit.

When you click Bulk edit, you'll get the option to edit data for the currently selected primary record type in the following ways:

  • Change standard and custom fields

  • Send records to your development tool, such as Jira, Azure DevOps Server, and other configured integrations

  • Add or remove linked strategic goals, initiatives, or epics

  • Delete records

Once you've selected the information you'd like to update, click the Apply button to quickly update all of the selected records. You can also click the Delete <record type→ button to bulk-delete your selected records.

Top

Bulk sending records to an integration

If you want to manually send records to an integration, you can of course do so one at a time by opening the record and clicking the Integrations dropdown, then selecting the enabled integration you would like to send the record to.

Bulk editing allows you to send multiple records to an integration manually. Follow the same steps in the process — create a list report, filter it to your data set, and select multiple records with the checkboxes on the lefthand side of the report. Then update the Send to field with an enabled integration.

Note: To bulk send records to an integration, all the records must be from the same workspace. Filter your report by Workspace name to get an appropriate list.

Click Apply to send your records.

Top

Aha! Roadmaps
Strategic roadmaps
    Integrations
      Aha! Ideas
      Announcements
      © 2020 Aha! Labs Inc.All rights reserved