Aha! Notebooks | Documents

Just like pages of a notebook, the digital documents within Aha! Notebooks are versatile — some are for writing, and some are for sketching. Use notes and whiteboards to define team processes, train new members, refine new concepts, or any other use that comes to mind. Start from scratch or access the built-in library of guided document templates to inspire creativity, drive consistency across teams, and establish a standard approach for documentation.

documents page in Aha! Notebooks

To access your documents, select Documents from the left navigation. From here, you have several ways to create and view documents.

Click any of the following links to skip ahead:

Create new documents

Create a new note or whiteboard from scratch — or start from a template. Click Guided template + to open the template gallery and select the template that suits your purpose. Click Note + or Whiteboard + to create blank new notes or whiteboards.

New documents created from the Documents page will be titled to today's date by default — but you can edit a document's title, title icon, and date at any time. When you create a new document, you can find it in the My documents section on the left side of your screen. Its location will default to the last folder you accessed. Drag and drop it to any folder you wish to stay organized.

Note: If you are on the Aha! Notebooks Advanced plan, use the dropdown in the upper left of your screen to select the intended location of your new document before adding it.

Top

View documents

Recents

Access the documents you have accessed most recently. You will see thumbnails of recently accessed notes and whiteboards in the Recent documents section. Click Recents in the left side navigation to remove everything but recent documents from the page.

If you are on the Aha! Notebooks Advanced plan, the workspace you have selected will determine which documents appear in your Recents section. If you have My work selected, you will see documents across both personal and workspace notes. If you have a particular workspace selected, then you will only see recent documents that are located in that workspace.

Top

Shared with me

Quickly find documents that others have shared with you without looking through folders. Click Shared with me in the left side navigation to see thumbnails of all documents that your colleagues have shared with you. Only documents you have accepted will populate here.

Notes shared via URL expire within 5 days. You will be able to retain access to a shared document after its links has expired as long as you have already opened it.

My documents

You can find all of your personal notes and whiteboards in the My documents section. The hierarchical structure of the My documents section makes staying organized simple, with nested folders that allow you to group and reorder your notes and whiteboards however it makes the most sense for you. You can choose the best organizational structure for your documents:

  • To group documents together, identify which documents you want to group together. Then create a new blank note, which will be the parent document to be the parent document for the group. Drag and drop the other documents onto the parent document to form a folder of child documents. Note: You can use an existing document as a parent document.

  • To reorder documents, drag and drop them into your preferred order. If you drag a parent document, all nested child documents will come with it.

    You can drag parent notes to new locations whether they are expanded or collapsed, but it might be easier visually to do this while they are collapsed.

  • To move a document, click and drag it to a new location. To move multiple documents at once, use Shift + click or Cmd/Ctrl + click to select the documents you want to move. Then drag and drop them together to their new location in the document list.

When you drag a document to a new location, blue bars will show you where it will land in order. A thin blue bar means your note will exist above or below another document in the order. A thick blue bar means that your note will be nested under another document in the order.

Your Aha! Notebooks account comes with a default Daily notes folder. All notes you create from your My work page will be created in this folder by default. You can leave your notes in this folder or drag and drop them to another location. Any note you move out of your Daily notes folder will retain its date.

If you are on the Aha! Notebooks Advanced plan, select My work from the workspace selector in the upper left your screen to access your personal documents.

Top

If you are on the Advanced plan, workspace documents are a great place to store any type of product documentation your team needs to access — like meeting notes, customer interviews, user flow diagrams, or internal processes. Having this information in a centralized place helps you effectively capture and share team knowledge. But you might need other information like outside links and documentation that is stored in other workspaces ready at hand as well. Add links to spreadsheets, design style guides, integration documentation, and other outside information right within your documents list — so you and your teammates do not have to leave your workspace documents and search for information elsewhere.

You can add links to personal or workspace documents. If you are on the Advanced plan, users with contributor permissions can add links to workspace documents.

To add a link to your documents list, click Add Link. Then select either Aha! link or External link.

  • Aha! link: Select the record type (Document will be preselected) from the dropdown and choose a the document or record you want to link to.

  • External link: Enter the URL you want to link to and enter the display text you want to show for your link.

After you have added a link, it will appear after the document you last selected in the documents list. Drag and drop it wherever you would like it to show in your documents list.

When someone clicks an Aha! link that you have added to your documents list, it will open within your documents. Anyone who has permission to edit a document in the workspace where it is located will also be able to edit it from here. If they do not have permission to edit it, they will not be able to edit it from your workspace, even if they have contributor permissions to your workspace.

When someone clicks an external link you have added to your documents list, the link will open in a new browser tab.

If you want to remove a link from your documents list, right-click it and select Delete link.

Top

Lock editing

You can protect any document from accidental edits so you do not lose important information. This is perfect for specific workspace documents that you want to be read-only for reviewers that have edit access to workspace documents.

Lock editing for any workspace or personal document. Click the document's More options menu and click the toggle to Lock editing. Do the same action to unlock it when you are ready for it to be edited again.

Workspace contributors can lock and unlock editing for workspace documents.

Top