Note: This article discusses functionality that is included in the Aha! Notebooks Advanced plan. Please contact us if you would like a live demo or want to try using it in your account.

Aha! Notebooks | User permissions (Advanced plan)

There is no one-size-fits-all when it comes to user permissions. Set permissions too loosely and you risk a well-meaning teammate changing an account-wide setting. Restrict access too much and you cannot collaborate effectively with the people who contribute to your team's success.

This article is focused to users on the Aha! Notebooks Advanced plan. If you are on the Aha! Notebooks Essentials plan, you do not have user permissions because you are the only user in your account.

In this article, we will cover all of the user permission levels, the difference between the three administrator levels, and show how you can manage user permissions in your account.

Click any of the following links to skip ahead:

Top

Non-admin user roles

There are three primary levels of user permissions in Aha! Notebooks. You can give a user different permission levels in different workspaces in your account.

Permission

Contributor

Reviewer

Viewer

Create and manage workspace documents

X



Create and edit custom document templates

X



Create, edit, and share personal documents

X



Share workspace documents

X

X


Create and assign to-dos

X

X

X

Be assigned to to-dos created by other users

X

X

X

Top

Administrator roles

Administrator roles give users the ability to edit various account-level settings. Admins are a secondary user role, which means that you can give any user in your account admin permissions, including users without permissions to see any workspaces or workspace lines in your account.

There are three different administrator access roles:

Permission

Account

Billing

Customization

Configure the account profile

X



Manage users and user permissions


X


Manage subscriptions and billing


X


Add and manage workspaces



X

Restore deleted workspaces, bulk deletions, and other records



X

Top

User permissions across the workspace hierarchy

If you have a workspace hierarchy set up in Aha! Notebooks with at least one workspace line and a child workspace, then the following also applies:

  • A user who has permission for a workspace automatically gets viewer permission for the workspace lines that this workspace is nested under. This allows the user to see the hierarchy for the workspace line. Note: The user cannot see other workspaces (even the workspace names) under the workspace line unless they have explicit permission to do so.

  • A user with explicit permission at the workspace line level will have that permission for all child workspaces. The only exception is if they are given more permission for a specific workspace. (They cannot be given less permission for a workspace in that line.)

Top

Disabling and deleting users

If you are an administrator with billing permissions, you have access to Settings ⚙️ Account Billing Users, where you can edit the permissions and profiles of your users. Here, you can also choose to Disable or Delete a user.

  • Disabled users do not count as paid seats, and can be reactivated later. Disabling a user does not remove documents they have created.

  • Deleted users are removed permanently from the list of users. Deleting a user does not remove documents and to-dos they have created.

Top

Default user permissions

Account administrators can set default user permissions for new users. Once set up, default permissions will be preselected for new users as a starting point when you add them to your account. Then you can further define which permissions you want a user to have before sending the new user invite.

To define default permissions for new users, navigate to Settings ⚙️ Account Users and click Set default permissions. Then select the permissions you would like set as a default starting point for new users and click Save. Once saved, the default permissions will be preselected when you add new users.

Top

Bulk edit user permissions

To bulk edit user permissions, go to Settings ⚙️ Account Users. Select the checkbox next to any name. The Bulk edit button will appear at the top of the user list.

Top